The History of Camp Pathfinder
Camp Pathfinder was established on Source Lake in 1914 by Rochester educators Franklin Gray and William Bennett. Pathfinder has been in continuous operation ever since. Past owners Herman Norton, William Swift, Roy Thrall, and Mac Rand were all Camp Pathfinder men who advanced their camp significantly during their tenures. The current owners are Glenn Arthurs and Mike Sladden, who have continued to steward the camp on Pathfinder Island as a simple, technology-free outpost, a unique community in the heart of wild, world-famous Algonquin Provincial Park, from which Pathfinder trippers explore the back country throughout Ontario and Quebec.
Young people come to Pathfinder for experiences that last a lifetime. Primarily a summer canoe tripping camp for boys, Pathfinder has become well known for its wilderness tripping and staff leadership programs. The camp also serves as an outdoor education destination for schools and family groups from the northeast.
Browse historical photos ...
- Provide healthful, rewarding, maturing summer experiences;
- Nurture boys' ability and enjoyment of lifelong outdoor sports;
- Empower boys to challenge and extend their limits;
- Foster a lifelong personal connection to the natural world;
- Instill in boys character, self-reliance, teamwork, comradeship, and respect;
- Prepare young men for leadership roles in the outdoors, and for the leadership roles of adult life.